Woohoo! For the final day of dashboard week, we were given clean AFL data to find and story and write a blog. Time was of the essence, so I had to pick a topic and stick with it. I have never been one for AFL, the only appreciation I had for the sport was the pack that regardless of rain, thunder, or storm, these men were on the field playing, and their supporters brave the cold to watch their teams play.

I have always been curious about the Brownlow medal; this was a good opportunity to learn more about the sport. The more I learned about the history of the medal and how it’s awarded, the more I respect this great national sport.

For this challenge, we only had to connect to the data in tableau and explore it. There were a lot of interesting insights, but the key here was to stay on track and have a dashboard and blog delivered by 3pm. I found that Nat Fyfe, won two Brownlows in the last 10 years, so my take was to explore this player a little more.

Only four players in the history of the League have won three Brownlow medals. They are Haydn Bunton (Fitzroy – 1931, 1932, 1935), Dick Reynolds (Essendon – 1934,1937,1938), Bob Skilton (South Melbourne – 1959, 1963, 1968) and Ian Stewart (St Kilda 1965, 1966 and Richmond 1971). Another eight players have won two Brownlows, which includes 1 player to win two medals in the last 10 years.

With a Star like Nat Fyfe and other top players, Fremantle was the runner-up in the 2013 Grand final. Overall, The Best and Fairest players don’t always win premierships, the fact that the Brownlow Medal encourages good sportsmanship and awards it’s players makes for a good sport to watch.


And it’s a Wrap!


Jude Shu
Author: Jude Shu